Tulsi Gabbard Returns to Debate Stage as Tom Steyer Makes First Appearance

Rep. Tulsi Gabbard (D-Hawaii) returned to the Democratic 2020 debate stage on Oct. 15 after missing the September debate.

Gabbard, an outsider candidate, narrowly missed qualifying for last months debate, as did billionaire Tom Steyer. Both needed at least one more poll showing 2 percent or higher from a pollster that was counted by the Democratic National Committee (DNC).

Gabbards campaign estimated that she had the support in at least a dozen polls, but most werent counted by the committee.

The 38-year-old has railed against the establishment and threatened to boycott Tuesdays debate.

Noting that the DNC conspired against Sen. Bernie Sanders (I-Vt.) in 2016, Gabbard said the committee is attempting to rig the primary this year. The rigging attempts are not against Sanders this time, according to Gabbard, but “against the American people in the early voting states of Iowa, New Hampshire, South Carolina, and Nevada.”

(From L) Democratic presidential hopefuls, Rep. Tulsi Gabbard (D-Hawaii), billionaire Tom Steyer, Sen. Cory Booker (D-N.J.), Sen. Kamala Harris (D-Calif.), Sen. Bernie Sanders (D-Vt.), former Vice President Joe Biden, Sen. Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.), Mayor of South Bend Pete Buttigieg, entrepreneur Andrew Yang, former Representative for Texas Beto ORourke, Sen. Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), former Secretary of Housing and Urban Development Julian Castro arrive on stage for the fourth Democratic primary debate of the 2020 presidential campaign season co-hosted by The New York Times and CNN at Otterbein University in Westerville, Ohio on Oct. 15, 2019. (Photo by Nicholas Kamm/AFP via Getty Images)

Gabbard ultimately decided to participate, she announced on Monday.

Steyer announced his presidential bid on July 9.

The 12 candidates on the stage were former Vice President Joe Biden, Sen. Bernie Sanders (I-Vt.), Sen. Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.), Gabbard, Steyer, Sen. Kamala Harris (D-Calif.), South Bend Mayor Pete Buttigieg, Sen. Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), former Secretary for Housing and Urban Development Julián Castro, entrepreneur Andrew Yang, Sen. Cory Booker (D-N.J.), and former Texas Rep. Beto Orourke.

Other candidates still in the race who havent qualified include Sen. Michael Bennet (D-Colo.), former Rep. John Delaney (D-Md.), Montana Gov. Steve Bullock, Rep. Tim Ryan (D-Ohio), author Marianne Williamson, former Rep. Joe Sestak (D-Penn.), anRead More – Source